In the Beginning & Run Lola Run Moments…

In the Beginning Tech + Rock

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Feels good to finally kick off a more community and tech oriented blog to share tips, tricks, stories and lots more with nearly two decades of experience to pull from. It’s been an epic journey from when I started out until now. One of my goals for 2013 is to spend more time giving back and helping others and hopefully this Blog can help in that regard!

In the Beginning
My journey to where I am now actually started by chance. Towards the end of 1995 I was making plans to move to LA and work my way up through the studio system while taking every odd job and extra work I could find. As luck would have it those plans were unraveling. At the same time I had become very well versed in the Internet as I was very fascinated with it. Over Thanksgiving I had helped given one of my family members a lot of insight into it and business implications and really didn’t think much of it at the time as I never once thought of trying to find a job in that new field.

Cut to a fateful call in January 1996 based on a recommendation from said family I had the chance at interviewing for an online job. Since the LA move by then had fallen apart I jumped at the chance and drove out to an interview to take on something new and exciting. The rest as they say is history. Wake up one day and I’m dreaming of LA and suddenly out of left field life comes along and has other plans for me. What a journey it has been and so thankful I never listened to the advice of my middle school computer science teacher who told me when I grew up I’d have no luck in anything related to computers or technology. Outside of her the public school system I would have to say was an early catalyst for my interest in technology as when I hit third grade they started to offer extra computer science related courses and as well after school and summer school courses I always took full advantage. Without that and as well my mom having Compuserve back when it the interface was a very boring black and orange screen.

If you think of the film “Run Lola Run” and how it showcases even the smallest of moments greatly altering the path someones life takes I feel so fortunate to have a similar moment that led me to where I am today. When one door or pathway in life closes another one opens… and at the time it happens we may not immediately see that but over the course of time the precise “Run Lola Run” moments of our life that pushed us in new directions ultimately crystallize.


As always…

When in Dallas be sure to check out the Texas Theatre.

If you ever have any topics or anything you would like to see covered let me know!

Leave a Reply

